Topic 1, Uncategorized

Topic 1 What an Eye Opener!

new-piktochart_26089348 (2)In the chart above, I present to you a brief summary of my findings on this week’s topic, ‘Digital Differences’. Okay, I admit that I have never heard of the term digital differences before this module begun and much less even know how it impacts us. Topic 1 has set me off on a meaningful journey in discovering issues and topics such as digital differences.

Reading Kerby’s blog made me realize that digital differences can be further segmented into two levels. The first being Internet usage while the second level of digital inequalities refer to the skills, participation and efficacy of Internet usage. Through my conversation with Kerby, I also realized that age and literacy rate are factors that are actually co-related as most of the elderly in Singapore are not well equipped with IT knowledge.

Reading Cai Ying’s blog taught me that as we age into a different phase of life, our interaction on the web will also transit along. She also further elaborated and confirmed my point on demographics can affect digital differences by mentioning that the country/state you live in is also one of the most significant contributing factors to digital difference. For instance, a developing country with 100% of the workforce requiring labor has no need for digital technology to step in, thus with no demand and no supply for IT, it causes digital difference.

comments.png

From reading comments on FutureLearn portal, such as Alicia’s comment, also made me relate to her situation as well as gain a deeper understanding. Overall, I have learnt of the many factors that can cause digital differences and how they do so. Through interacting and questioning my peers, I have also learnt of their opinions on this term which enlightens me and brought me into a deeper dimension in understanding the use and consequences of the web.

Previously commented on

 

[303 words]

Leave a comment